Oat Bran Banana Muffins

I wanted to try something different with banana muffins (this is generally when my husband gives me that “do you really think that is a good idea” kinda look) and so I decided to use oatbran as my base, instead of using almond flour/wheat flour/coconut flour. My sister recently reintroduced me to oatbran – It is so diverse and loaded with fiber and protein – and I really enjoy it for breakfast every now and then.

 As I’ve mentioned before, my baking skills are really quite dismal. I try so hard, yet I am really no good so when I bake, I don’t usually expect too much from myself. Today was a different story. I loved the outcome of these banana muffins. Whoohooo! They weren’t as heavy and dry as muffins I’ve made with other forms of flour.

2d00e5_d331f569e7454555934df152575dcaad~mv2

Ingredients:

  • – 1.5 cups oat bran
  • – 1 scoop vanilla protein (I think that’s the equivalent of 1/4 cup)
  • – 2 tsp baking powder
  • – 3 bananas (they would need to be overripe so you can mash them)
  • – half cup plain yoghurt
  • – 1 egg
  • – 1 tsp vanilla essence / extract
  • – 1 Tbsp honey

Method:

  • – Preheat oven to 200 Degrees Celsius.
  • – Mash the bananas, yoghurt, egg, vanilla essence and honey in a bowl and mix well.
  • – Add oat bran, protein, baking powder to the bowl until combined well with the wet ingredients.
  • – Divide the batter evenly into a muffin tray.
  • – Bake for 15 – 20 minutes.

BEST SERVED HOT!

Leave a Reply

