Feeling Fluey? Try this…

I’ve been feeling slightly fluey and sluggish the last two days and I know that this means I need to take a step back and prioritise my health. This entails listening to my body and giving it exactly what it needs. It also entails taking time to just be.

FullSizeRender-3

The first thing my body called for this morning was a good old flu juice. This is the Mother of all immune boosting shots and it’s packed with anti-inflammatory properties. It may very well put hairs on your chest but at the same time, it annihilates all those germs and infections. It also tastes pretty darn good which is an added bonus.

FullSizeRender-6

Flu Juice Ingredients

  • Half Green Apple
  • 1 Lemon (skin removed)
  • Ginger (I used about 5cm)
  • 1 Carrot
  • 1 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 tsp Tumeric
  • Optional: 1 small green chilli

→ Add all the ingredients to a juice extractor and serve immediately.

 

Benefits for colds & flu

Ginger

Ginger is an incredible ingredient. It is a powerful inflammation-fighting, immunity boosting and digestion-aiding {super} plant. It is also known for reducing nausea and kick starting  your energy levels. It is an all-rounder and we should be including it in our morning routines every dam day.

Lemon

Lemons are most commonly known for their detoxifying properties but they are also loaded with Vitamin C and are also inflammation-fighting.  The most essential minerals required by the body are found in lemons. Clever little things!

Carrots

Carrots contain high levels of Vitamin C and Vitamin A. They are immunity-boosting and strengthen the immune system.

Cayenne Pepper

Cayenne Pepper is full of Vitamin A which helps relieve pain. It’s known to fight flu because of the high levels of beta carotene and antioxidants. It also helps in breaking up and moving the congested mucous out of your body. Some call it the “king of herbs” and it’s no surprise really.

Turmeric

I love turmeric. It’s so versatile and so effective for so many ailments. Though it’s at its most natural in root form, the powder is as effective – as long as you are buying good quality and organic. It is anti-inflammatory, a natural antibiotic, antiseptic and an antioxidant. It’s also detoxifying and immunity-boosting.

Green Apples

You know what they say… An apple a day keeps the doctor away. Okay, I’m not convinced that that is true but in any event, it is massive source of antioxidants. It’s also loaded with Vitamin A and Vitamin C.

I have had two of these shots/juices today and I am feeling on top of the world. It really is an amazing, natural and healthy fix. My nose is clear, my throat is no longer sore and I feel energised and ready to take on the world.

 

One thought on “Feeling Fluey? Try this…

  1. I am definitely going to make myself a flu juice. Not only does it make complete sense to be putting all that goodness into my body, but it also sounds delish! What’s not to try! Thanks Well with my Soul xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

