The Big “30”

If you know me then you will know that I am by no means afraid of turning 30, unlike my compadres. The thought of reaching the fourth decade of my life is pretty bad-ass. In the wise words of Cameron Diaz : “They think that they failed somehow by not staying 25. This is crazy to me because my belief is that it’s a privilege to get older – not everybody gets to get older.”  She literally stole the words right out of my mouth. All this got me thinking about what I’ve achieved over the past 30 years, and also what I’m yet to achieve.

The Man

I’ve married a man. Not just any man. A man so gentle, so caring and so humble. A man that loves me without reservations. A man so patient with me and a man who shares my compassion and love for animals. A man who puts up with me at my worst, yet remains unquestionably loving. A man who also challenges me and allows me to be exactly who I am, without judgment. A man who cooks, cleans and wakes up early to make me lemon water in bed without ever complaining. A man who probably does not realise how incredible and worthy he is and how people are drawn to him. This man chose me and I am forever grateful.

The Love

I’ve genuinely loved and been loved. By my husband. By my family. By my in-laws. By my friends. I have loved and lost pets. I’ve loved these pets with all my heart and soul and I’ve felt intense sorrow and cried myself to sleep for weeks and months after losing them. I’ve experienced the absolute power of love for and by an animal.

The Best Friends

I’ve watched my sister (best friend, soul mate, other half) walk down the aisle and stood beside her as her maid-of-honour while she took her vows. I’ve seen the pure emotion on her husband’s face and witnessed their first kiss. I’ve been maid-of-honour at all my best friends’ weddings. Before I turn 30 I will be walking down the aisle and watching my oldest and one of my best friends marry the man of her dreams. I’ve been asked to support my best friends on the biggest day of their lives and for that I am so honoured.

The Nieces

I’ve watched my niece form and grow in my sister’s tummy. I’ve witnessed the ultimate love of all in my sister’s heart when she was born. A love like no other and a love that cannot falter or break. I’ve since watched my sister transform from a wife, sister, friend, daughter to a Mom (while still being all those other things) and I am completely blown away by the ease at which she has taken on this brand new role. [ By the way, Mom’s are flipping incredible!]

I’ve been given the most beautiful gift of being a God-Mother to my precious niece in Scotland. A little girl who I am so ridiculously proud of. I am so amazed by her grace and her kindness. A little girl who has a heart of gold and who is so loving.

The Travel & Exploring

I’ve traveled and explored parts of the world with my husband by my side. I’ve traveled and explored parts of the world with our families by our side.  I will travel and explore so many more parts of the world in the years to come. I’ve been blessed to have seen so much of Asia over the past 10 years but my heart is calling out for more adventures and more destinations.

I’ve stayed in some of the most beautiful places in South Africa and I plan on staying in many more beautiful places. I’ve seen the Big 5 many times. I’ve been treated to exclusive 5 star luxury accommodation and I’ve camped under the stars.

I’ve felt and feared the power of the ocean. I’ve also experienced the serenity and peacefulness of it. I’ve shared some of the best memories of my youth out in the sea with some of my best friends. I’ve climbed many mountains and I’ve seen many sunsets and sunrises.

The Career

I’ve studied my bum off and achieved my career goals. I’ve also realised that the career goals I had 10 years ago are not the same career goals I have now and that is okay. I’ve got brand new opportunities on the horizon and new goals to smash.

The Family

I’ve built an incredible relationship with my mom and dad. I’ve also realised that as much as I used to hate to admit it, I am more like my dad than anyone else in my family and I couldn’t be prouder. I have a best friend, a supporter, a confidant, and a mischievous partner in crime in my mom. I’ve been blessed with the most talented and humble brother. A person that will always put others first and will always be there.

The Strength

I’ve pushed my body to limits that I did not think were possible. I’ve found strength in myself that I didn’t know that I had. I’ve been at a point of wanting to give up and then I’ve endured. My body is healthy and I can achieve whatever I set my mind to.

I’ve done so much over the last 30 years. I can’t tell you how liberated I feel knowing that there is so much behind me but so much more ahead of me. Whether you are turning 30 or 40 or even 70, remember this: Age does not define you. What defines you are the memories you make, the friends you have, the love you share with family, the places you go and the things you see. Don’t shy away from your age – embrace it every.single.day! Pat yourself on the back for your achievements and for  all the things you are yet to achieve. Set goals and then knock them out the park. Do things that make you feel alive. Let go of things you can’t change. Pay special attention to people who make you happy and uplift you. Know your worth and don’t settle for anything less. Live your life and forget your age. This is my wish for you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Big “30”

Leave a Reply

